Home General Discussion

Black Mold?

estebansuarezestebansuarez Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 7
Hi Cigar.com community

I am new to cigars and just purchased a new Yukon 40 count humidor and a sampler of 30 cigars about 3 weeks ago or so. I season the humidor as best as I could and placed a humidifier with distilled water inside,but I am guilty of opening the humidor a lot to check for the humidity level, which has been as high as 74% for an hour or so and as low as 63% for a couple of minutes, but mostly around 67-71%. Yesterday, I noticed small black dots in the humidor inside little lines or cracks and I do not remember if the humidor was that way before or not. The black dots are really small and mostly inside the little cracks in the wood. I do not know if it is black mold or not and I am worried. Everything smells great, but I read that opening the humidor causes drastic changes in humidity and that causes mold. I am attaching pictures and I would really appreciate if anyone could tell me if it is mold or not and if so what can I do about it. Thank you all and have a great day.

http://i1375.photobucket.com/albums/ag471/esteban_asc/DSCN2452_zps1752a214.jpg

http://i1375.photobucket.com/albums/ag471/esteban_asc/DSCN2455_zpsef94186d.jpg

http://i1375.photobucket.com/albums/ag471/esteban_asc/DSCN2450_zps65e0d1db.jpg

http://i1375.photobucket.com/albums/ag471/esteban_asc/DSCN2453_zps9cca635b.jpg

Comments

• Gray4linesGray4lines Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,439
    estebansuarez: