Home General Discussion

Discovered a great cigar!

dwikoffdwikoff Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 14
Got a Rocky Patel Edge in a sampler pack and was blown away! This cigar is fantastic. I am a novice cigar smoker and am trying many cigars to try and find my niche. I had a problem starting this cigar because I don't have a cutter large enough to accommodate this cigar and had to use a knife. I cut into the shoulder which cause a bit of unraveling (my bad) but this cigar was superb! I don't claim to be an expert and can't discern the "oaken, spicy, leathery, etc), flavors, but I do know what gives me pleasure and that is loads of thick, dense, flavorful smoke, which this cigar delivers. I am putting this cigar on my list of "Must haves".

Comments

• VulchorVulchor Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 4,176
    Good sticks. The Sumtra Edge are VERY good stick. The "original" Edge's before Rocky changed every blend that got him famous (though he denies he did it) were simply amazing.
  • jd50aejd50ae Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 4,109
    dwikoff:
    Got a Rocky Patel Edge in a sampler pack and was blown away! This cigar is fantastic. I am a novice cigar smoker and am trying many cigars to try and find my niche. I had a problem starting this cigar because I don't have a cutter large enough to accommodate this cigar and had to use a knife. I cut into the shoulder which cause a bit of unraveling (my bad) but this cigar was superb! I don't claim to be an expert and can't discern the "oaken, spicy, leathery, etc), flavors, but I do know what gives me pleasure and that is loads of thick, dense, flavorful smoke, which this cigar delivers. I am putting this cigar on my list of "Must haves".

My first cutting method was with a very sharp knife (or razor knife) and all you do is cut a V in the cap. No unraveling and usually a good draw. It is what Mr Churchill did, and I figured that was good enough for me.