Home General Discussion

Found a cigar I loved, looking for suggestions on similar ones to try

Rob002Rob002 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello all. I am new to the hobby and so far I have purchased some sample packs of various cigars to explore what I like and dislike. The majority I have tried I tended to enjoy, but can’t say I’d want another one if I had other choices available.

I recently took a vacation to the Cayman Islands, and while there decided it would be a good time to try a Cuban cigar while I had the chance (since I live in the USA and can’t get them legally while at home). One that I made a point to try was the Montecristo #2 since I had read from several sources before going that it was one of “the cigars” to compare all others to. (I know that is probably a debatable thing, but it seemed like a popular statement enough to at least try).

Well, I sat down with a buddy of mine in a La Casa del Habano store and tried it out. I loved it. It was by far the best cigar I had ever tried (so far). It was smooth smoking from start to end, great tasting, and just an all-around great smoke. 

I was very happy to have gotten to try it, but now that I am home am sad that I can’t actually get them. So, I will turn to you more experienced folks for some advice to help find some similar cigars to try out that I can find here in the states. 

What non-cuban cigars are most like the Cuban Montecristo #2 when it comes to flavor, quality, etc…? I am sure there must be ones that are similar, but there seem to be an endless amount to try so a little help narrowing down the choices would be appreciated.

If there is any more info I can provide to help answer please let me know and I will try my best to answer.

Thanks!

Comments

• SleevePlzSleevePlz Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 5,408
    Just break the law and order some Monte #2's. Problem solved.
  • Lee.mcglynnLee.mcglynn Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 5,228
    SleevePlz: