Home General Discussion

How do you "Puff" your cigars?

0 That Guy 00 That Guy 0 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 188
I have been enjoying cigars for a few months now and I have started to learn and realize the specifics in the make up of cigars that make them a horrible, good, better or best smoke - obviously in my opinion based on my taste buds.

when I first started puffing on stogies I would constantly take 2 or 3 little puffs to get the cigar going before taking one big pull, feeling my mouth as much as possibly with hot, thick smoke. I enjoyed this method and could always taste the different nuances as well as the change at different points throughout the smoke so I never thought anything more about the way I was smoking.

Lately I have, for whatever reason, eliminating the "build up" puffs which got the cigar going before and started just doing little - one at a time - puffs which don't create near the smoke that I was experiencing before. But I have noticed that this one puff method really brings out the flavors of the cigar at a much higher level then what I was doing before. I don't know why this would be other then I must be getting more of the wrapper and filler flavors with cooler smoke rather then hot ash mixed in. There now nothing better for me then taking a quick puff, exhaling and then tasting exactly what I feel was intended in regards to flavor by the maker of each cigar.

In regards to the methods behind puffing cigars does this make sense and how would you all compare your puffing methods and habits to this?

Comments

• GoldyGoldy Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 1,636
    I have noticed that those "build up puffs" can make the smoke bitter so I switched to one at a time.
  • LasabarLasabar Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 4,457