Home General Discussion

Noob question: Plugged cigar

cshmoldascshmoldas Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3
Ok, so I've been smoking cigars off and on for the past 12-15 years and had never had any issues with too tight/plugged cigars until recently.  In the past month, I've had 2 seriously plugged cigars (both Gurkhas).  I keep my humidor at around 68% rh and other cigars in there have not had any problems, so I don't think its a humidor issue...but what the heck do I know, I'm a noob.

I guess my question, is 3 part:

1)  Are there any steps that can be taken to lower the chances of getting plugged?
2)  Is there any way to save a severely plugged stick?  I've just had to toss them...
3)  Are there popular brands that are more susceptible to getting plugged than others (Ex. I've tried to smoke 4 Gurkha in the past month or so, and 2 were plugged and a third was really tight, but not unbearable).

Any thoughts?

On a positive note, after the last plugged cigar, I grabbed a 5 Vegas Miami out of the humi, which I really enjoyed.

Shmo

Comments

• catfishbluezzcatfishbluezz Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 6,993
    Gurkha...don't buy them...problem solved. Honestly it happens, happened in a couple Cubans to me recently... As long as they are stored properly, it happens with hand rolled cigars from time to time.
  • mmccartneydcmmccartneydc Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,358
    I personally haven't smoke many Gurkhas, but I can tell you that the concensus of this forum is that you will have burn issues with them. The one's I've had, have been fine.
  • jlmartajlmarta Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,440