Home Cigar 101

Good Cigars/ Tough Draws

mat4twampmat4twamp Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 9
Hello, I am still pretty new to the whole cigar smoking. It seems like everytime I get a well constructed and thick (for the lack of a better word, by this I mean it feels really stuffed full of filler) cigar I always get a tough draw until the end. For instance last night I smoked a Padilla Obsidian, great taste but I though I was going to suck my cheeks into my lungs. I either use a punch or a clipper. On looser cigars my punch seems to take out more tobacco from the end and I get a better draw. I had to clip the Padilla last night as it was a Torpedo. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Ryan

Comments

• j0z3rj0z3r Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 9,403
    Padilla torpedos have a pretty tight draw across the board. What you have to do is cut more than you normally would from the head. My advice is to do your normal cut, then test the draw....if it is too tight, cut off some more and test again.
  • mustluvcigarsmustluvcigars Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 686
    ive also learned, as I am brand new as well,,, the cigars nees to "rest" after being shipped...most here have said six weeks, I too have some really good cigar with the same problem, some worst than others, hoping was because they were just too fresh..
  • urbinourbino Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 4,517
    j0z3r:
    Padilla torpedos have a pretty tight draw across the board.
    I've never drawn one across a board. Doesn't that mess up the wrapper? (I slay me.)
  • Jetmech_63Jetmech_63 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,384
    Most of us on here have had the Padilla Obsidian and the concensus is they have burn and draw issues, rather consistently. I have one left and i'm leaving it for a while, still wont buy any more though.
  • gmill880gmill880 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 5,947

urbino:
    j0z3r: