Home General Discussion

Spice or Cream

sailingaliensailingalien Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 8
While I am still a novice I have realized that cigars generally fall into two categories: Spicy or Creamy. The former provides actions (red pepper and earth) while the latter provides smoothness (milk and thickness). I've always subscribed to the idea that the two cannot coexist in the same cigar and that each of us has our own taste buds. Is a creamy-spicy smoke what we're all after or do each of us really want one more than the other? Do Cuban smokes really ride the middle here? 

Comments

• docbp87docbp87 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,521
    Cuban smokes tend to be far milder, cleaner, subtle, and smooth than their non-Cuban counterparts, which tend to have darker, spicier flavors, and a lot more strength. The constant NC marketing tactic of calling spicy cigars "Cubanesque" is total BS, when really very few Cuban cigars have the kind of high nicotine, all spicy heat profiles that so many Non-Cubans (especially Nicaraguans) have. I like both spicy and creamy cigars. To say that cigars either fall into one of these categories or the other is... very inaccurate. A cigar can be both, neither, or one then the other as the burn progresses. Tasting cigars is far more complex than simply spicy or creamy.
  • dbeckomdbeckom Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 1,807
    sailingalien:
    While I am still a novice I have realized that cigars generally fall into two categories: Spicy or Creamy. The former provides actions (red pepper and earth) while the latter provides smoothness (milk and thickness). I've always subscribed to the idea that the two cannot coexist in the same cigar and that each of us has our own taste buds. Is a creamy-spicy smoke what we're all after or do each of us really want one more than the other? Do Cuban smokes really ride the middle here?