Home General Discussion

Gurhka Nightmare....and redemption

KingoftheCoveKingoftheCove Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 908
Hi All,
Newbie here - smoked cigars in the 70s and 80s, and early 90s retired in 1995 (kids, etc.) - then started again late 2010 (my kids are grown up, I work too hard and need SOME enjoyment in life - time for stogies again!)
Can't afford what I used to smoke (Fuentes and Macanudos) - but there has been a LOT of changes in the industry since I quit - lots of new players - and I'm slowly getting to know them and find my favorites that I can afford (Padilla, Gurhka, PDR, Red Dot Cohibas, and Rocky Patel).

The Internet has changed things as well (how did we even survive without the Internet?) - I still find it an amazing "tool" that everyone under 30 simply takes for granted....enough background...time for a short tale.

So C.com had a nice deal for 5 Gurhka Titans and 5 Red Dot Cohibas which I jumped on. Put them in my humi and let them sit for a while. Then had a red dot - delicious, gonna get more as soon as they're on sale.

The next day I went for the Titan, looked and smelled great, but felt a bit "moist". I went ahead and snipped it, the pre-light draw was tight - I figured it would loosen up.
So (looking back) I made two novice mistakes before I even lit up!
I went ahead and lit it, and it was a tough go from the start - and I did did just about EVERYTHING wrong that one could do, to screw up a good cigar.
Long story short - I had to ditch it  1/2 way through, and it wasn't a good experience - I was really bummed out.

Went on the net (on this site and others) and discovered all the blunders I made, and the remedies to take when a stick is too moist.