Home General Discussion

Greetings from the People's Republic of Maryland

bluedogbluedog Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 2
Let me first say I'm a newbie to this; I mean really new...I've never posted to the threadanything before. So please forgive me when I say, "I'm mad as hell and I'm not going to take it anymore!" with a nod to, I believe, poor dead Peter Finch's character in the movie Network. AHH, I'm beginning to feel better already...on to business.

What happened to the thread Goodbye CCOM? I couldn't find it today. It regarded Maryland's ban on Internet tobacco sales. Being the paranoid seer that I am and having waded my way through the legislative BS in the link sent to me by CCOM, I believe this is not about taxes so much as eventually banning tobacco here in the gulag. This legislation, if it stands, affects all of us, in every state. Some states have already restricted or banned smoking in public places and I believe I read that a local jurisdiction in California has banned smoking within it's borders, even in your home. I'm ashamed to report that Maryland tried that in Friendship, MD (it was eventually overturned). What all the states are looking for is a way to ban a legal product that will withstand judicial review. But someone has to bring suit. Individuals like myself cannot possibly afford this. Even banding together and bringing a class action is remote.

Might I suggest that CCOM and the other internet purveyors get together and bring suit for restraint of trade? What do you all think?

Comments

• Amos UmwhatAmos Umwhat Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 2,523
    bluedog:
    Let me first say I'm a newbie to this; I mean really new...I've never posted to the threadanything before. So please forgive me when I say, "I'm mad as hell and I'm not going to take it anymore!" with a nod to, I believe, poor dead Peter Finch's character in the movie Network. AHH, I'm beginning to feel better already...on to business.