Home General Discussion

My palate

y2pascoey2pascoe Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 1,707
Has anyone had a smoke and detected certain nuances and flavors, and then read a review of that cigar where it makes no mention of such flavors? I'm still pretty new to cigars, so I know my palate is still developing, but what I found interesting was in the second third of the 5 Vegas classic I smoked tonight I was picking up what I could only descibe as a cocoa taste in my mouth. Reading the ccom desciption there's nothing mentioned about that, although I did taste the earthy flavors of the first half. Regardless, I thought it was a good smoke. Burned even, started canoeing slightly but corrected itself. The draw was great with thick smoke, and I didn't get a hot draw till I was down to the nub. Does it sound like my cigar taste buds are still developing, or is it more of a "to each there own" type of thing?

Comments

• skweekzskweekz Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 2,218
    Ah the beauty of cigars...to each their own! I've been down that same road myself. I actually try not to read any reviews before I have a chance to try a smoke myself so I'm not swayed in any way. As in, I don't wanna have an idea in my head that a certain cigar has a cocoa taste and be thinking about it the whole time. I like to experience it for myself then compare what I tasted/smelled/felt to what someone else might have experienced with that same smoke. Just my two cents!
  • kaelariakaelaria Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 572
    While everyone has different taste - the two things you will learn not to trust are manufacturers and store descriptions. I rarely find them anywhere near accurate for whatever reasons.
  • cooch36cooch36 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 711
    skweekz: