Home General Discussion

Question

cooch36cooch36 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 711
why are my cigars seem to be good when I first light them then about half way through the wrapper spits seem to happen to many all in different area's of my humi. to dry to moise humidity is about 69-71 % readout.

Comments

• letsgowithbobletsgowithbob Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 676
    I am by no means an expert, but I would imagine that they are over humidified a bit. When you start smoking the cigar, the first thing to dry out would be the wrapper, leaving the filler moist and expanded. The wrapper starts to dry out and shrink, and viola, you have cracking. Just a guess, maybe check your hygrometer??
  • cooch36cooch36 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 711
    they don't seam hard or anything the feel fine smoke fine to start then expand and explode! btw it's dry as f in my house.
  • One2gofstOne2gofst Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 583
    Do you have them in a humidor and do you have a calibrated hygrometer in said humidor?
  • KriegKrieg Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 5,068
    i would check your hydrometer...sounds like your RH might be off....I try to keep mine around 65-68 RH
    I've calibrated and check when I set up system 6 months ago seam consistant, one is on the other 4% low . I've been very anal about it. I have a cab 1500 count humi with a moist n air on the bottom seems like I keep RH fairly close and well mantained. Just trying to figure out if its over or under humidity or if the dry air in my house once starting to smoke is affection the cigar. When I went to Punta Cana last yr while smoking my cigars about half way through it seem the outer wrapper stopped burning and the filler was the only thing burning due to high humidity in the air cigar changed. wonder if this is a reverse affect. Any info?
  • docbp87docbp87 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,521
    All sounds like symptoms of over humidification.