Home General Discussion

Question about cigars and makers...

zeebrazeebra Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,166
I only started in February, so I'm still new to cigars...

I just have a question that I've been curious about.

Every time a manufacturer comes out with a new cigar, how come its always "the best blend" that they have made? I know they are promoting their cigars and want to sell them, but its hard to believe a lie like that. It just annoys the hell out of me with all the brands that keep doing this every time they come out with a new cigar.

Some manufacturers that do this alot, just on top of my head......
AJ Fernandez
Rocky Patel
Gurkha

Am I just crazy or does it bother others?

Comments

• wwhwangwwhwang Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 2,863
    For AJ Fernandez, I think it's because he keeps trying to top his last top blend. Ex. Man O' War was topped by Ruination, which he considers topped by Diesel Unlimited, etc.

As for Gurkha and RP? I dunno.
  • t_evan50t_evan50 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 1,725
    I'm gunna go with the short answer of... "marketing". And man are they good at it. I've spent entirely too much money in just the last 3 days because of my need to try these latest and greatest excellent blends. Now I will say in AJ's case its usually right.
  • ShotgunJohnShotgunJohn Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 1,539
    wwhwang:
    For AJ Fernandez, I think it's because he keeps trying to top his last top blend. Ex. Man O' War was topped by Ruination, which he considers topped by Diesel Unlimited, etc.

As for Gurkha and RP? I dunno.

I agree with you about AJ Fernandez always trying to get a better blend. Look at the new MOW Armada (it is going to be tasty)
    I know K. Hansotia of Gurkha always tries to do limited run special editions using small batches of rare tobacco. This could also account for "Best Blend Ever" tag.

I think cigars are like technology, they are constantly evolving and getting refined.